Who We Are
What We Do
Impact We Make
News & Events
How To Apply
Return to CDFI Fund mainpageU.S. Department of the Treasury websiteCommunity Development Institutions Fund
Blank Space
Community Development Financial Institutions Fund
CDFI Fund Mapping System
Accessing the
Mapping System
Blank Space
Blank Space
Information for Applicants
Blank Space
Blank Space


Below you will find links to webpages containing information on certification as a CDFI or CDE and for each of the CDFI Fund's programs. These pages will provide an overview and more detailed information (and links) regarding eligibility, timelines, application materials, and supplemental resources and guidance.

For information on award announcements, closing, disbursements and reporting, see Steps 3, 4, and 5 of Information for Awardees.

 Step 1 - Certification as a CDFI or CDE

Certification as a Community Development Financial Institution - or CDFI - allows organizations to participate in the CDFI Program, NACA Program and to obtain additional benefits under the BEA Program. The CDFI Certification page contains the program regulation; application materials; lists of certified CDFIs by organization name, state, and type of institution; and other supplemental resources.

What do CDFIs do? Listen to Director Gambrell talk about the work of CDFIs in this podcast with the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta. A transcript is also available.

Certification as a Community Development Entity - or CDE - allows organizations to participate, directly or indirectly, in the NMTC Program. If an organization is certified as a CDFI or an Specialized Small Business Investment Company (SSBIC), it may register on the CDFI Fund's website and automatically qualify as a CDE. The CDE Certification page contains the program statute, application materials, a link to the registration page for CDFIs and SSBICs, lists of certified CDEs by organization name and state, and other supplemental resources.

Please visit the following pages for more detailed information on CDFI and CDE certification:

CDFI Certification  CDE Certification


 Step 2 - Apply to Program

Each of the CDFI Fund's programs is designed to provide assistance to different types of organizations and each has its own set of eligibility criteria.

The following are the programs that the CDFI Fund administers which provide monetary assistance:

  • Bank Enterprise Award (BEA) Program;
  • Community Development Financial Institutions (CDFI) Program; and the
  • Native American CDFI Assistance (NACA) Program.

The CDFI Fund also administers the following program through which organizations may receive allocations of tax credits that can be used to raise capital for community development financing:

  • New Markets Tax Credit (NMTC) Program.

Please visit the following pages for more detailed information on each of these programs:

Bank Enterprise Award  CDFI Programs  Native American CDFI Assistance  New Markets Tax Credit
Blank Space
Blank Space
Blank Space Contact Us  |  Site Index  |  Search  |  Return to Main Page
  Blank Space Blank Space Copyright Status Blank Space USA.gov | Grants.gov | Regulations.gov | OIG |
Small and Disadvantaged Businesses | Privacy & Security | No Fear Act
FOIA | Website Policies & Major Links | Download Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader | Download Microsoft Excel Viewer | Download Microsoft Word Viewer |
Download Microsoft Powerpoint Viewer
  Blank Space The CDFI Fund is an equal opportunity provider.