Who We Are
What We Do
Impact We Make
News & Events
How To Apply
Return to CDFI Fund mainpageU.S. Department of the Treasury websiteCommunity Development Institutions Fund
Blank Space
Community Development Financial Institutions Fund
 Click here to create a new subscription or to update an existing one.
Learn More:
CDFI Fund Fact Sheets
   myCDFI Fund log on
    Forgot password?
    New user? • Help
CDFI Fund Mapping System
Accessing the
Mapping System
Blank Space
Blank Space
Bank Enterprise Award Program
Blank Space
Blank Space



The Bank Enterprise Award Program (BEA Program) was created in 1994 to support FDIC-insured financial institutions around the country that are dedicated to financing and supporting community and economic development activities. The BEA Program complements the community development activities of insured depository institutions (i.e., banks and thrifts) by providing financial incentives to expand investments in CDFIs and to increase lending, investment, and service activities within economically distressed communities. Providing monetary awards for increasing community development activities leverages CDFI Fund dollars and puts more capital to work in distressed communities throughout the nation.

The BEA Program provides formula-based grants to applicants for increasing qualified activities from a Baseline Period to an Assessment Period. Awards are based on activities within three categories:

  1. CDFI Related Activities: Equity Investments, Equity-like Loans, Grants, Loans, Deposits/Shares, and Technical Assistance to Qualified CDFI Partners.
  2. Distressed Community Financing Activities: Affordable Home Mortgage Loans, Affordable Housing Development Loans, Small Business Loans, Home Improvement Loans, Education Loans, and Commercial Real Estate Loans.
  3. Service Activities: Deposits, Community Services, and Financial Services.
*These terms are defined either in the BEA Program Regulations (12 C.F.R. 1806) or in the applicable BEA Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA) for each funding round.

All depository institutions insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) are eligible to apply for a BEA Program award.

For more detailed information, please refer to the Notice of Funds Availability (NOFA) found in the Application Materials section below.


  •  FY 2015 Round Opens:
  • May 4, 2015
  •  FY 2015 NOFA Published:
  • May 5, 2015
  •   FY 2015 Application Deadline via Grants.gov:
  • June 15, 2015
  •   FY 2015 Signature Page and Attachments Deadline via myCDFI Fund:
  • June 17, 2015

     Application Materials    
     Supplemental Resources    
     Past Awards    
     Program Materials Archive
    Blank Space

    Browser Plug-Ins

    Certain areas of our site may require the use of browser plug-ins. The following are links to some of those resources. These links do not constitute an endorsement or recommendation.

    To view or print the PDF content on this page, download the free
    Adobe® Acrobat® Reader®.
    To view or print the Microsoft Excel content on this page, download the free Microsoft Excel Viewer.
    To view or print the Microsoft Word content on this page, download the free Microsoft Word Viewer.
    To view or print the Microsoft Powerpoint content on this page, download the free Microsoft Powerpoint Viewer.

    Blank Space
    Blank Space Contact Us  |  Site Index  |  Search  |  Return to Main Page
      Blank Space Blank Space Copyright Status Blank Space USA.gov | Grants.gov | Regulations.gov | OIG |
    Small and Disadvantaged Businesses | Privacy & Security | No Fear Act
    FOIA | Website Policies & Major Links | Download Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader | Download Microsoft Excel Viewer | Download Microsoft Word Viewer |
    Download Microsoft Powerpoint Viewer
      Blank Space The CDFI Fund is an equal opportunity provider.